USDA Secretary Ann Veneman has announced the names of five new National Pork Board members. The National Pork Board is a 15-member panel that oversees the collection and distribution of the national pork checkoff funds. Members serve three-year terms, that are staggered so each year, there are new appointees.

The current group of five appointees were chosen from among eight pork producer candidates who were nominated by producer delegates at Pork Industry Forum this past March in Atlanta.

The new appointees are: Danita Rodibaugh, John Adams, G. Steven Weaver, Timothy Bierman and Bruce Samson.

"I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to serve on the National Pork Board," says Veneman. "Their knowledge and expertise will greatly assist the program."