Lisa Tokach, DVM, has been named Swine Practitioner of the Year by the American Association of Swine Veterinarians. The award, given annually since 1977, recognizes swine practitioners who demonstrate exceptional service to their veterinary clients. It is the association’s highest honor. Dr. Tokach is a mixed-animal practitioner, primarily focused on swine population medicine, at Abilene Animal Hospital in Abilene, Kansas.

In addition, four practitioners received separate honors from AASV at the group’s annual meeting. Jason Kelly, DVM, was named Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year. The award is given annually to an AASV member five or less years post graduation who has demonstrated the ideals of exemplary service and proficiency early in his or her career. Kelly is a swine practitioner and managing partner at Suidae Health and Production serving clients in Iowa and the Midwest.

Robert Desrosiers, DVM, Boehringer Ingelheim Canada, was recognized as the Technical Services/Allied Industry Veterinarian of the Year. The award recognizes swine industry veterinarians who have demonstrated an unusual degree of proficiency and effectiveness in delivery of veterinary service to their companies and their clients as well as given tirelessly in service to the AASV and the swine industry.

Sandy Amass, DVM, received the Meritorious Service Award. The award recognizes individuals who have provided outstanding service to the association. Dr. Amass is a professor at Purdue University’s School of Veterinary Medicine.

Greg Stevenson, DVM, was presented with the Howard Dunne Memorial Award, recognizing AASV members who have made important contributions and provided outstanding service to the association and the swine industry. He was a professor and swine pathologist at Purdue University until 2007.

Source: AASV