The National Pork Board, Pioneer Hi-Bred and PIC have announced the recipients of 19 scholarships to college students around the U.S. The recipients hail from 14 different colleges and seven swine-related fields of study. The 2008 Pork Industry Scholarship recipients are:

Hyatt Frobose
Carrie Highfill
Douglas Andrew Albright
Emily Arkfeld
Kyle Baade
Scott Baker
Angela Black
Jonathan Romuald Ertl
Ashley Hop
Arthur Leal
Elizabeth M Legan
Neal T. Martin
Jeremiah Nemechek
Stephanie Raney
Kate Richter
Hannah M. Rothe
Mitchell Schaefer
Trever Shipley
Grant Tomsche

The top candidate, Hyatt Frobose, will receive $10,000 stipend and the second candidate, Carrie Highfill, will receive $5,000 in a scholarship sponsored by Pioneer Hi-Bred. The other seventeen students selected will receive $2,500 each.

"On behalf of the Pork Checkoff and its partners, the National Pork Board and the pork industry, congratulations to all of this year's Pork Industry Scholarship recipients," said Steve Weaver, president of the National Pork Board. "We look forward to welcoming them into our industry in the future,"

Pioneer Hi-Bred is the world's leading source of customized solutions for farmers, livestock producers and grain and oilseed processors. Pioneer provides access to advanced plant genetics in nearly 70 countries.

PIC is the international leader in providing genetically superior pig breeding stock. The company combines quantitative sciences with leading edge biotechnology to develop non-GMO breeding stock that is focused on meeting the needs of its customers. 

Source: NPB