The National Pork Board re-elected its president and vice president to serve for another year. Hugh Dorminy, a pork producer from Russellville, Ark., is president, and Craig Christensen, a pork producer from Ogden, Iowa, is vice president.

Dorminy is starting his second three-year term on the National Pork Board. He served as president in 2001-02 and vice president in 2000-01. "I'm a firm believer that pork checkoff programs are beneficial and have more than paid for themselves," says Dorminy.

Recently, NPB launched a Producer Service Center and Dorminy plans to increase efforts to share information and understanding about checkoff-funded programs with pork producers.

Dorminy has been involved with the pork industry for more than 25 years and has served on the national level as a delegate to the National Pork Industry Forum. He has served on several national committees.

Christensen is serving his third year on the National Pork Board. He served as the National Board vice president in 2001-02. Christensen farms with his family on a farrow-to-finish operation. He also raises corn and soybeans.

"The board is made up of active pork producers that represent all segments and regions of our industry," says Christensen. "Our job as board members is to work for and with pork producers for the benefit of our industry."

The National Pork Board is a group of 15 people nominated by pork producers or importers, elected by the Pork Act Delegates at the National Pork Industry Forum and officially appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture. In addition to Dorminy and Christensen, current National Pork Board members are:

  • John Q. Adams, Snow Hill, N.C.
  • Mark Bartusek, New Prague, Minn.
  • Michael Bayes, Orient, Ohio
  • David Culbertson, Geneseo, Ill.
  • Thomas J. Floy, Thornton, Iowa
  • Lynn Harrison, Elk Mound, Wis.
  • Deborah Johnson, Clinton, N.C.
  • William Scott Long, Manteca, Calif.
  • Chet McManus, Fulton, S.D.
  • Marlin Pankratz, Mt. Lake, Minn.
  • Mark Reding, Howardstown, Ky.
  • Danita S. Rodibaugh, Rensselaer, Ind.
  • Bradley K. Thornton, Eagle, Idaho
    National Pork Board