The National Pork Board is accepting nominations to fill five, three-year terms as directors of the board. State pork producer associations, farm organizations and anyone who pays the pork checkoff, including pork producers and pork importers, can nominate individuals for these positions.

Any producer who has paid all checkoff assessments due, or is a producer or representative of a producer/company that produces hogs/pigs, is eligible to serve on the NPB. The 15 positions on the board are held by pork producers or importers who volunteer their time. Seats to be elected in 2003 currently are held by:

  • Craig Christensen, Iowa - Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term
  • David Culbertson, Ill. - Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term
  • Mark Reding, Ky. - Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term
  • Chet McManus, S.D. - Not eligible for reelection
  • Marlin Pankratz, Minn. - Not eligible for reelection

An independent Pork Checkoff Nominating Committee was created to solicit, interview, evaluate and recommend candidates to the Pork Act Delegate Body at the annual meeting scheduled for March 7-8, 2003, in Dallas, Texas.   A slate of eight producers will be elected and submitted to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture who will appoint five producers to fill the open positions.

Applications are due by Dec. 16. Direct all application requests and questions to the NPB either by mail to P.O. Box 9114, Des Moines, IA 50306 or by telephone to Lorraine Garner, at 515-223-2600.

National Pork Board