The new president of the National Pork Producers Council is Jill Appell, who owns Appell’s Pork Farms of Altona, Ill., with her husband, Paul. She was elected to the one-year term at this year's National Pork Industry Forum. She takes the reigns from Joy Philippi.

A member of NPPC's board of directors for the past five years, Appell has served on numerous committees and task forces and chaired the Pork Safety and Human Health and Nutrition committees. She is past president of the Illinois Pork Producers Association and served as USDA’s state director of rural development for Illinois during the Clinton Administration.

Appell was on Illinois Gov. Jim Edgar’s Livestock Industry Task Force, which looked at environmental issues facing the industry, and served on the National Livestock and Meat Board. She belongs to the Illinois Farm Bureau and is a member of the American Soybean Association, the National Corn Growers Association and the Council for Agriculture and Research.

Moving into the president-elect spot is Bryan Black, of Ned Black & Sons of Canal Winchester, Ohio. With his brother, Black runs a 300-sow, farrow-to-finish operation and raises corn, soybean, wheat and hay on 500 acres. 

First elected to the board in March 2003, Black is chairman of NPPC’s Nominating and State and Investor Relations committees. He also serves on the Marketing and Budget committees. He is past president of the Ohio Pork Producers Council.

Other positions filled during Pork Forum, include Don Butler, director government relations and public affairs with Murphy-Brown LLC, as the new vice president. Murphy-Brown is the livestock-production subsidiary of Smithfield Foods.

Producers elected to NPPC’s board of directors for three-year terms are: Kathy Chinn, Clarence, Mo.;  R.C. Hunt, Wilson, N.C.; Larry Liepold, Okabena, Minn.; and Randy Spronk, Edgerton, Minn. Todd Neff, Tyson Meats, was elected to the board for a two-year term, representing the NPPC Packer Processor Industry Council, on which he has served for the past four years.

“We have excellent leadership in Jill, Bryan and Don and have added some quality, dedicated industry representatives to the board of directors,” says Neil Dierks, NPPC chief executive officer. CEO Neil Dierks.

Continuing as NPPC board members are: Sam Carney, Adair, Iowa; Bob Dykhuis, Holland, Mich.; Rick Rehmeier, Augusta, Mo.; Terry Vanlaningham, Warsaw, Ind.; and Doug Wolf, Lancaster, Wis. Quentin Bottorff, with Phibro Animal Health, continues as the Allied Industry Council representative. Joy Philippi will serve on the board as immediate past president.

Source: National Pork Producers Council