The National Pork Board honored two retiring producer members and its outgoing president during the National Pork Industry Forum in Dallas.

Steve Weaver, a pork producer from Elk Grove, Calif., was recognized for serving as president of NPB.  Weaver will serve through August, leading the nation's pork producers in overseeing NPB’s pork checkoff investments.

"As president, Steve led the industry during a particularly difficult time," said Tim Bierman, a pork producer from Larrabee, Iowa and NPB vice president. "Steve brought the business perspective to the Board in a time when producers were struggling to remain profitable because of the highest feed costs in history. He never wavered from his belief that pork producers working together can surmount almost any challenge."

Dianne Bettin, a pork producer from Truman, Minn., and Dennis Michael, a pork producer from Yankton, S.D., were honored for six years of service to the National Pork Board. Bettin, a producer who has 350 sows and markets 6,000 pigs annually, serves on the Demand Enhancement Committee, Nutrition Committee, Audit Committee, Pork Safety Committee and the Plan of Work and Budget Task Force. 

Michael, a producer who operates a farrow-to-finish hog operation and is 50 percent partner of BPM Seedstock operation, serves on the Producer Services Committee and the Administrative Committee.  He also has served on the Audit Committee and the Demand Enhancement Committee.

Source: NPB