The National Pork Board is accepting nominations to fill five, three-year terms on its board of directors. In addition, candidates are being sought for two open seats on NPB’s Nominating Committee to serve two-year terms starting in 2008. Nominees may be submitted by state pork producer associations, farm organizations and anyone who pays the pork checkoff, which includes pork producers and pork importers.

Any person who is a producer and has paid all checkoff assessments due, or is a representative of a producer/company that produces hogs/pigs, is eligible to serve on NPB's board. The 15 positions are held by pork producers or importers who volunteer their time. Seats to be elected in 2008 currently are held by:

Lynn Harrison, Wis. – Term limitation applies
Wayne Peugh, Ill. – Term limitation applies

Brian Zimmerman, Neb. – Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term
Alan Wilhoite, Ind. – Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term
Roy Henry, Kan. – Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term

NPB's Nominating Committee will solicit, interview, evaluate and recommend candidates to the Pork Act Delegate Body at the annual meeting March 6-8, 2008, in St. Louis, Mo. A slate of eight producers will be elected and submitted to the USDA Secretary who will appoint five producers to serve 3-year terms on NPB's board.

The application deadline is Dec. 1. Please direct application requests and questions to NPB either by mail to 1776 NW 114th St, Clive, IA 50325, by telephone to Lorraine Garner at (515) 223-2637, or e-mail

The National Pork Checkoff Board consists of 15 members, each serving a maximum of two three-year terms. The Pork Act requires that no fewer than 12 states be represented by the 15 Pork Board members. At the time of election, these states will be represented by the board members whose positions on the board are not due for election: California, Iowa, Montana, Illinois, Minnesota, North Carolina, Missouri, Ohio and South Dakota. In order to meet the 12-state requirement, candidates from at least three “new” states must be ranked in the top five of the eight nominees sent to the USDA Secretary.

Source: National Pork Board