Craig Christensen of Ogden, Iowa, was elected president of the 15-member National Pork Board at the board's summer meeting June 30 through July 2.  Dave Culbertson of Geneseo, Ill., was elected vice president.

The board also welcomed three new members.  Dennis Michael, of Yankton, S.D., Diane Bettin of Truman, Minn., and Wayne Peugh of Edelstein, Ill., were nominated by producer delegates at the National Pork Industry Forum in March. USDA officials approved them earlier this summer.  Board member Mark Reding of Howardstown, Ky., was reappointed to a new three-year term, as were Christensen and Culbertson.

Christensen, who operates a family owned hog, corn and soybean farm, was elected at the conclusion of the Board's strategic planning meeting.  Board members lead other pork producers in determining how pork checkoff funds are collected and invested.  The recent strategic planning session was a first step in planning the 2004 checkoff budget.  In the coming months, budget and plan of work groups will continue to meet to plan next year's programs. NPB members will meet to approve the budget in November. USDA also must approve the budget.

National Pork Board