The Minnesota Pork Board announces the state’s winners in five categories. Each year, the group names individuals and families who have made significant contributions to the state’s pork industry.

This year’s 2009 Minnesota Pork Industry Award winners are:

  • Distinguished Service, Gregg Sample of Spring Valley
  • Environmental Steward of the Year, Schafer Farms Inc. of Goodhue
  • Family of the Year, Ron and Dora Fowler of Truman
  • Pork Promoter of the Year, Kevin Estrem of Nerstrand
  • Swine Manager of the Year, Shane Wilson, nursery operations manager for Protein Sources Management of Mapleton

The Minnesota Pork Board will recognize its Minnesota Pork Industry Award winners and select its 2009 Pork Ambassador at a luncheon on Jan. 22 at the Minneapolis Hilton. The Ambassador and Awards Luncheon will begin at 12:45 p.m.

Pork production is Minnesota’s leading agricultural industry, annually accounting for nearly 20 percent of the state’s agricultural cash receipts. The gross income from the sale of Minnesota market pigs last year was $2 billion and the total annual economic generation to the state was $7.6 billion.

Source: Minnesota Pork Board