Agricultural price volatility and other factors can make negotiating land-lease agreements difficult. Kansas State University Research and Extension will host eight workshops around the state to help agricultural landlords and tenants manage risks associated with negotiating such agreements.

The 2010-2011 Lease Workshop dates, locations and contacts include:

•   Dec. 1, 2010 – Goodland – Dana Belshe (785-890-488 or dbelshe@ksu.edu) or

Clint Milliman (785-460-4582 or milliman@ksu.edu );

•   Dec. 2, 2010 – Scott City – John Beckman (620-872-2930 or jbeckman@ksu.edu);

•   Dec. 8, 2010 – Hesston – Jonie James (316-284-6930 or jjames@ksu.edu);

•   Dec. 9, 2010 – El Dorado – David Kehler (316-321-9660 or dkehler@ksu.edu);

•   Dec. 16, 2010 – Clay Center – John Forshee (785-632-5335 or

jforshee@ksu.edu);

•   Jan. 12, 2011 – Winfield – Jill Zimmerman (620-221-5450 or

jazimmer@ksu.edu);

•   Jan. 20, 2011 – Great Bend – Rick Snell (620-793-1910 or rsnell@ksu.edu);

and

•   Feb. 9, 2011 – Hutchinson – Zach Langford (620-662-2371 or zachlang@ksu.edu.

 

Each workshop begins with registration from 9:00 to 9:30 a.m., with the workshop ending at 3:00 p.m.

Kansas State Research and Extension agricultural economists will provide information on such topics as types of leases; ethics; learning to use Excel spreadsheets and how to use lease decision tools to assist in formulating an equitable lease. Participants will be introduced to a decision-making tool, called KSU-Lease. 

The North-Central Risk Management Education Center in Lincoln, Neb. is sponsoring the workshops through a grant program to provide risk-management education to producers and agricultural stakeholders.   

More information about the workshops, including downloadable brochures for each location, is available here.

 

Information also is available by contacting Rich Llewelyn at (785) 532-1504 or rvl@ksu.edu.

 

 

 

Source: Kansas State University