Jacinto Fabiosa and Dermot Hayes have been named the co-directors of the Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute at Iowa State University effective July 1.

They succeed John Beghin, director since 1999, who will spend the next year at the University of Sydney, Australia, before returning to Iowa State's economics department.

Fabiosa has served as FAPRI's livestock and poultry analyst since 1997. He became the technical director in 2002. Fabiosa came to Iowa State as a Fulbright Academic Enrichment Scholar from the Philippines and finished his doctorate in economics at Iowa State with the Center for Agricultural and Rural Development in 1993. Previously he worked at the International Rice Research Institute in the Philippines and at the World Bank in Washington, D.C.

Dermot Hayes joined Iowa State's economics department in 1986. Hayes is the Pioneer Hi-Bred International Chair in Agribusiness and a professor in both the university's economics and finance departments. He was head of the Trade and Agricultural Policy Division at CARD from 1990 through 1998, and he will return as division head beginning July 1. He earned his degree in agriculture science from the University College in Dublin in 1981 and his doctorate from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1986 with a major in international trade.

FAPRI was established in 1984 with a special appropriation of the U.S. Congress. It was created as a joint effort of Iowa State and the University of Missouri at Columbia to build an econometric modeling system capable of providing quantitative analysis of agricultural commodity markets to Congress, the U.S. Department of Agriculture and other public policy groups.

Source: Iowa State University