Chairman of the U.S. House Agriculture Committee, Collin Peterson (D-Minn.) has announced the members who are selected to serve on the House Agriculture Committee for the 111th Congress.

The House Democratic Steering Committee will include 11 freshmen members and 17 returning members, to serve on the House Agriculture Committee. The House Republican Conference has named 17 Republicans to serve on the committee and has left one seat vacant.

"The Agriculture Committee is responsible for issues as varied as farm programs, commodity markets, nutrition, conservation, renewable energy and rural development, so the diverse experiences of these members will bring new ideas and energy to our work on these important issues," Peterson says.

The 28 Democrats who will serve on the committee are:

  • Chairman Collin Peterson, Minnesota
  • Rep. Tim Holden, Pennsylvania
  • Rep. Mike McIntyre, North Carolina
  • Rep, Leonard Boswell, Iowa
  • Rep. Joe Baca, California
  • Rep. Dennis Cardoza, California
  • Rep. David Scott, Georgia
  • Rep. Jim Marshall, Georgia
  • Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin, South Dakota 
  • Rep. Henry Cuellar, Texas
  • Rep. Jim Costa, California
  • Rep. Brad Ellsworth, Indiana
  • Rep. Timothy Walz, Minnesota
  • Rep. Kirsten Gillibrand, New York
  • Rep. Steve Kagen, Wisconsin
  • Rep. Kurt Schrader, Oregon
  • Rep. Deborah Halvorson, Illinois
  • Rep. Kathleen Dahlkemper, Pennsylvania
  • Rep. Eric Massa, New York
  • Bobby Bright, Alabama
  • Rep. Betsy Markey, Colorado
  • Rep. Frank Kratovil, Jr., Maryland
  • Rep. Mark Schauer, Michigan
  • Rep. Larry Kissell, North Carolina
  • Rep. John Boccieri, Ohio
  • Rep. Earl Pomeroy, North Dakota
  • Rep. Travis Childers, Mississippi
  • Rep. Walt Minnick, Idaho

The 17 Republicans (with one additional vacant seat) who will serve on the committee are:

  • Ranking Member Frank Lucas, Oklahoma
  • Rep. Bob Goodlatte, Virginia
  • Rep. Jerry Moran, Kansas
  • Rep. Timothy Johnson, Illinois
  • Rep. Sam Graves, Missouri
  • Rep. Mike Rogers, Alabama
  • Rep. Steve King, Iowa
  • Rep. Randy Neugebauer, Texas
  • Rep. Virginia Foxx, North Carolina
  • Rep. K. Michael Conaway, Texas
  • Rep. Jeff Fortenberry, Nebraska
  • Rep. Jean Schmidt, Ohio
  • Rep. Adrian Smith, Nebraska
  • Rep. Robert Latta, Ohio
  • Rep. Phil Roe, Tennessee
  • Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer, Missouri
  • Rep. Glenn Thompson, Pennsylvania
  • One vacancy

The House Agriculture Committee has jurisdiction over a wide range of agriculture and rural development issues. These areas include renewable energy, disaster assistance, nutrition, crop insurance, conservation, international trade, futures market regulation, animal and plant health, agricultural research, bioterrorism, forestry, and others. Congressman Peterson has served as chairman the Agriculture Committee since 2007.

Source: U.S. House Committee on Agriculture