Dermot Hayes, Iowa State University agricultural economist, has been named to the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee, jointly administered by USDA and the U.S. Department of Energy.

The committee was established by the Biomass Research and Development Act of 2000 and assists the two departments in meeting the act’s “important national goals of a healthier rural economy and improved national security.” The advisory committee also helps connect federal and state agencies, agricultural producers, industry, consumers and researchers related to federal biomass research and development.

Hayes will fill the appointment for three years. As a committee member, he will advise the Biomass Research and Development Board, which coordinates research and development activities relating to biofuels. The Technical Advisory Committee lends expertise on strategic planning and direction of requests issued for research proposals under the Biomass Initiative and the procedures for reviewing and evaluating the proposals.

Hayes holds the Pioneer Hi-Bred International Chair in Agribusiness. He is a professor in the economics and finance departments at Iowa State.