Nebraska Gov. Dave Heineman reported this week that Grant County earned the "livestock friendly" designation by committing to rural economic development and agribusiness.

Nebraska now has 14 counties that are officially livestock friendly. The others are Adams, Box Butte, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Hitchcock, Jefferson, Keith, Lincoln, Morrill, Sheridan, Wayne and Webster Counties.

To receive the label, Nebraska counties must hold public hearings, declare the importance of livestock to the particular county's well-being, submit narratives that describe how the county meets the intent of the Livestock Friendly County program, and provide copies of regulations governing the site-selection criteria for livestock operations.

Source: The Associated Press.