Deputy Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner has announced five appointments to the 15-member National Pork Board. The five were chosen from among eight pork producers nominated by the National Pork Producers Delegate Body.

The new Board members are: Conley Nelson, Algona, Iowa, and Karen Richter, Montgomery, Minn. The reappointed Board members are: Roy Henry, Longford, Kan.; Alan Wilhoite, Lebanon, Ind.; and Brian Zimmerman, Beatrice, Neb. Each appointee will serve 3-year terms.

Established under the Pork Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act of 1985, the Board develops budgets and awards contracts to carry out a coordinated program designed to strengthen the position of pork in the marketplace.

Source: USDA