The National Pork Producers Council elected five members to its 14-member board of directors at Pork Forum held March 3-5 in Phoenix, Ariz. Each of the four producer members will serve three-year terms.  An associate member from the Packer Processor Industry Council will fulfill a 2-year term.

 The newly elected members include Mark Legan, Coatesville, Ind., Bill Luckey, Columbus, Neb.; John Weber, Iowa; and Gary Asay, Osco, Ill. Pat Schwab, Hormel Foods, is the new Packer Processor Industry Council representative.

They will join Doug Wolf, Wisc., newly elected NPPC president; R.C. Hunt, N.C., president-elect; Randy Spronk, Minn., vice president; and producer board members Robert Dykhuis, Mich., Howard Hill, DVM, Iowa; Larry Liepold, Minn.; Ron Prestage, DVM, S.C. Al Deutch, Ill., also serves on the board as the Pork Alliance representative.

Sam Carney will remain on the board as the immediate past-president.

NPPC delegates at Pork Forum also elected Joe Popplewell, Okla., and Rick Rehmeier, Mo., to the nominating committee, which screens and identifies future national leadership candidates.  This is a 2-year term.