The American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation awarded scholarships totaling $25,000 to 15 veterinary students during the AASV annual meeting in Phoenix, Ariz.

Alexander Primus received the $5,000 scholarship for top student presentation. Alexander is a 2nd year veterinary student at the University of Minnesota.  His presentation was titled "Identification of a new potentially virulent Brachyspira species affecting swine.” Alpharma Animal Health provided the financial support for the Top Student Presenter award.

Additional scholarships totaling $20,000 were provided by Eli Lilly and Company Foundation, on behalf of Elanco Animal Health.

Four veterinary student presenters received $2,500 scholarships: Deanne Day, Iowa State University, Peter Schneider, Iowa State University, Kimberly Schultz, Iowa State University and Andrew Stas, University of Pennsylvania.

Five veterinary student presenters received $1,500 scholarships: Jordan Graham, Iowa State University, Kristy Kenney, North Carolina State University, Jessica McKinney, University of Illinois, John Prickett, Iowa State University and Paul Thomas, Iowa State University.

Those student presenters receiving $500 scholarships were: Jeremy Johnson, Iowa State University, Anna Massie, University of Illinois, Marlena McCarty, the Ohio State University, Allison Meiszberg, Iowa State University and Britni Miller, University of Illinois.

Veterinary students representing 12 universities submitted 50 abstracts for consideration. From those submissions, fifteen students were selected to present during the annual meeting. Alpharma Animal Health, sponsor of the Student Seminar, provided a $750 travel stipend to each student selected to participate.

Judges representing private practice, academia and industry selected the recipients on the basis of communications skills in the writing of the abstract and the presentation of the case report, and on applicability of the research to swine medicine.