USDA Secretary Ed Schafer has renewed the Agricultural Air-Quality Task Force. He has selected the members to serve a two-year term through 2010.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service chief chairs the task force, which is made up of USDA employees, industry representatives and other agricultural air-quality experts. The task force will advise the USDA secretary on air-quality issues, including strengthening and coordinating related USDA research and identifying cost-effective ways for agriculture to improve its air-quality efforts.

The new task force members include:

  • Arizona: Kevin Rogers, producer, Rogers Brothers Partnership
  • California: Kevin Abernathy, California Dairy Campaign; Cynthia Cory, California Farm Bureau Federation; Manuel Cunha Jr., Nisei Farmers League; Roger Isom, California Cotton Ginners & Growers; Paul Martin, Western United Dairymen; Richard McVeigh, San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District
  • Iowa: Robert Burns, Iowa State University; Jerry Hatfield, USDA ARS; Chris Petersen, producer, C&K Family Farm; Hongwei Xin, Iowa State University
  • Kansas: Brian Lindley, No-till on the Plains; Charles Rice, Kansas State University
  • Michigan: Wendy Powers, Michigan State University
  • Minnesota: Sagar Krupa, University of Minnesota
  • New York: Douglas Shelmidine, producer, Sheland Farms
  • North Carolina: Sally Shaver, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Ohio: Leon Weaver, Bridgewater Dairy
  • Pennsylvania: Eileen Wheeler, Pennsylvania State University
  • Tennessee: Bill Norman, National Cotton Council of America
  • Texas: Robert Avant Jr., Texas A&M University; Bryan Shaw, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality; Benjamin Weinheimer, Texas Cattle Feeders Association
  • Virginia: Gary Baise, Kilpatrick Stockton LLP; Kristen Hughes, Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Source: USDA