Daryl Olsen, DVM, of Audubon, Iowa, was installed as American Association of Swine Veterinarians' new president. He succeeds Scott Dee, DVM, Alexandria, Minn., who is now the immediate past president. Kerry Keffaber, DVM, North Manchester, Ind., has ascended to president-elect. AASV's newly elected vice president is Rodney "Butch" Baker, DVM, Ames, Iowa.

Olsen is swine practitioner at the Audubon-Manning Veterinary Clinic in Audubon, Iowa. "I am excited about the opportunity to serve as president of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians," he says. "Our industry and profession will have many challenges and opportunities in the future. Providing leadership to our association to meet these challenges is both an honor and a responsibility that I take seriously."

Kerry Keffaber, DVM, is a swine technical services consultant at Elanco Animal Health. Prior to joining Elanco, he was a swine practitioner in Indiana for 21 years. Active in the AASV since 1981, Keffaber served as a district director for two terms, a past chair of the PRRS subcommittee, and has served on several planning committees for the association's annual program.

Rodney "Butch" Baker, DVM is a senior clinician in the Food Supply Veterinary Services Unit at Iowa State University's College of Veterinary Medicine. Prior to taking that position in 2006, he was a clinical associate professor at North Carolina State University's College of Veterinary Medicine. Baker's career in veterinary medicine began as a mixed animal practitioner in Kentucky. After 17 years in private practice, he spent a year in the animal health industry, four years with a pig breeding-stock company and three years as director of health assurance in a large integrated pork production company.

AASV also recently honored three members for their contributions to the association and the pork industry. They include:

Ernest Sanford, DVM, was awarded the Howard Dunne Memorial Award for his contributions and outstanding service to the association and the swine industry. Sanford is a swine specialist for Boehringer Ingelheim Canada, having joined the company in 1994. He has served the U.S. and Canadian pork industries through his research in swine diseases and leadership roles in organizations that serve the industry. Sanford is a board member of the Ontario Pork Industry Council Swine Health Advisory Board and a director on the AASV Board of Directors.

Sue Schulteis, received the Meritorious Service Award, in recognition of the time and effort she has consistently given to AASV. Schulteis is the associate director of the association, where she has worked since 1997. In addition to managing the association office, Schulteis' most visible responsibility is planning and coordinating the annual meeting which serves as the primary continuing education source for swine veterinarians.

Bernie Curran, DVM, was named the 2007 Swine Practitioner of the Year. The award, given annually since 1977, recognizes swine practitioners who demonstrate exceptional service to their veterinary clients. It is the association's highest honor. Curran is a partner at Scott County Animal Hospital, a four-veterinarian mixed animal practice. Active in AASV since 1974, he has served in many leadership roles including serving as president in 1986. In the words of his wife, Mary Ann, "Bernie sees his job as something beyond veterinary medicine.

Source: American Association of Swine Veterinarians