t’s been four years, but the National Air Emissions Monitoring Study (or NAEMS) has findings to report to the U.S. animal agriculture sector.

The effort began in 2007 as a result of a consent agreement between certain animal commodity groups and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The project was organized to measure emissions of regulated gases from representative livestock and poultry facilities across the United States. The purpose was to improve the state of knowledge of agricultural air emissions, especially in the context of prospective regulation of those emissions.

Now that the monitoring has been completed and researchers have turned the data over to EPA, it’s time to report study findings to the agricultural sector as well, researchers note.

On Sept. 16, an Extension Webcast will highlight results of this multi-species study and the researchers will offer their perspectives. The Webcast will be held at 2:30 p.m. (eastern), 1:30 p.m. (central), 12:30 p.m. (mountain) and 11:30 a.m. (pacific). The session is free and the meeting room opens approximately 15 minutes before the scheduled start time, and you can link to the virtual meeting room here.

The featured presenters will include:

  • Al Heber, professor in agricultural and biological engineering at Purdue University, oversaw the NAEMS study. At Purdue his primary research is the assessment and mitigation of dust, odor and gas emissions from livestock facilities.
  • Erin Cortus, South Dakota State University assistant professor and extension specialist. Following graduate school, she spent over two years at Purdue University, working on the National Air Emissions Monitoring Study as the data analysis manager.
  • Rick Stowell, University of Nebraska associate professor in the biological systems engineering and animal science departments, will moderate the session. He leads the Air Quality Education in Animal Agriculture project, which oversees the Air Quality section of the Learning Center website.

More information is available on the Webcast.

Source: Livestock and Poultry Environmental Learning Center