Two soybean researchers will receive support from U.S. soybean farmers, via the United Soybean Board (USB) and soybean checkoff have announced the 2011 recipients of the USB Research Fellowships. Lilly Brzostowski and Kevin Dillon have been selected out of 13 qualified applicants to receive the fellowships. Both have been accepted in doctoral programs and began their studies this fall.

Brzostowski plans to conduct doctoral research at the University of Illinois, focusing on soybean breeding for resistance to sudden death syndrome (SDS) using molecular markers. Dillon plans to research soybean production systems at Virginia Tech University.

“My research will focus on SDS with the hope of identifying new resistance genes,” says Brzostowski. “I look forward to my future in soybean breeding and creating new varieties that help U.S. soybean farmers.”

The USB Research Fellowship provides a $25,000 annual stipend, administered through the American Society of Agronomy, for four years to recipients. Applicants for the fellowship must have been accepted into a doctoral program with emphasis on improving U.S. soybeans.

“The USB checkoff fellowship program shows one more way that the checkoff continues to look to the future of soybean research,” explains Jason Bean, a soybean farmer from Holcomb, Mo., and chair of the USB production research program. “We’re excited to be able to help Lilly and Kevin continue their education.”

Source: USB