R.C. Hunt, newly elected NPPC president
R.C. Hunt, newly elected NPPC president

The National Pork Producers Council (NPPC) has elected new officers and members to its board of directors. The election came at the National Pork Industry Forum – held in Denver March 1-3.

Taking over as president of the organization is R.C. Hunt, a producer from Wilson, N.C. Hunt was elected to the post for a one-year term.

Hunt is the president and co-owner of Andrews Hunt Farms, which consists of swine, cattle and fish operations and which has 1,000 acres of cropland in the North Carolina counties of Franklin, Nash and Wilson. The Bailey-based farm currently produces 75,000 feeder pigs a year while finishing 40,000 market hogs. The farm contracts for Premium Standard Farms.

Hunt also serves on the board of directors and the executive committee of the North Carolina Pork Council.

Howard Hill, DVM, a pork producer from Cambridge, Iowa, was elected NPPC vice president. He was elected for a one-year term. Hill is the director of animal well-being for Iowa Select Farms, an Iowa-based pork production company. His pork production business, H&K Enterprises, includes hogs and cattle. Hill and his son farm 2,600 acres of corn, soybeans and alfalfa.

Randy Spronk, a producer from Edgerton, Minn., was elevated to president-elect. Spronk is the managing partner for two family farm enterprises: Spronk Brothers III LLP is involved in pork production, and Ranger Farms LLP is involved in crop production. The pork production enterprise markets 120,000 head annually. Spronk and his partners also raise corn and soybeans on 2,000 acres.

Re-elected to the board for three-year terms in the producer category were Hill; James Heimerl, from Johnstown, Ohio; Bill Kessler, Mexico, Mo.; and E. Ray Summerlin, Dunn, N.C.

“We have excellent leadership in R.C., Randy and Howard and quality, dedicated industry representatives in the new board members who were elected,” said NPPC chief executive officer Neil Dierks. “I know that all of them will work diligently and tirelessly on behalf of America’s pork producers.”

In addition to the newly elected and re-elected officers and board members, continuing as NPPC directors are: Gary Asay, Osco, Ill.; Mark Legan, Coatesville, Ind.; Larry Liepold, Okabena, Minn.; Bill Luckey, Columbus, Neb.; Dr. Ron Prestage, Camden, S.C.; and John Weber, Dysart, Iowa.

Al Deutsch, who works for Automated Production Systems, remains as the allied industry representative, and Pat Schwab, with Hormel Foods, remains as the packer representative. Doug Wolf, owner of Wolf  L & G Farms LLC in Lancaster, Wis., will serve on the board as immediate past president.

Producers Dave Moody, from Nevada, Iowa, and Kraig Westerbeek, from Warsaw, N.C., were elected for two-year terms to NPPC’s Nominating Committee, which reviews the credentials of candidates for the organization’s board of directors.

Source: NPPC