DENVER -- Activities at the 2012 U.S. National Pork Industry Forum held March 1-3 in Denver, included swearing in of 161 delegates to the National Pork Board (NPB). The delegates, representing 43 states, will serve one-year terms.

The 2012 slate of delegates were sworn in by James Brow, U.S.D.A. Agricultural Marketing Service official.

“These pork producer delegates are all highly capable representatives of the U.S. pork industry,” said Everett Forkner, NPB president. “Although there are challenges confronting our industry, this is a great time to be a pork producer and we will benefit from their valuable contributions throughout the coming year.”

In addition, eight U.S. pork producers were nominated to seats on the NPB. In order of number of votes received, they are:

Brad Greenway, S.D.
Dale Norton, Miss.
Craig Mensink, Minn.
Lisa Colby, Mass.
Carl Link, Ohio
Janice Miller, Neb.
Emiley Gaskill, Ind.
Ed Keller, N.Y.

The slate of nominees will be submitted to USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack, who will appoint five of the nominees to the Pork Board.

A special tribute to Forkner as an outstanding leader and on a successful term as NPB president also was part of Pork Forum’s proceedings. During his leadership, Forkner has made significant progress for the pork industry in the areas of:

  • Advancing the U.S. Farmers and Ranchers Alliance
  • Introduction of the Pork. Be Inspired advertising campaign
  • Obtaining USDA approval of lowering the approved cooking temperature for pork
  • Production research on significant animal diseases.

“Everett’s longstanding commitment to the U.S. pork industry and to pork producers has earned him the respect, appreciation and thanks of a grateful industry,” said Chris Novak, NPB chief executive officer.