The American Meat Science Association has announced winners from the National 4-H Meat Evaluation and Identification Contest, held Oct. 25,  at Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kansas.

Top Individuals: 1. Ryan King, Texas; 2. Miranda Jones, Texas; 3. Chris Davis, Kansas; 4. Mark Girone, Illinois; 5. Trey Fecke, Illinois; 6. Buddy Skipper, Alabama; 7. Jacob Painter, New Mexico; 8. Bradley Braddock, Illinois; 9. Zena Doty, New Mexico and 10. Rachel Bardot, Missouri. 

Top 5 Teams: 1. Texas, 2. Illinois, 3. New Mexico, 4. Kansas and 5. Alabama.

Office committee members for the Eastern National contest included Davey Griffin.; Tom Carr,. and Casey Mabry.

In total, 57 contestants representing 15 states participated in the contest.

The American Royal Association sponsored the contest at Kansas State University and provided the awards breakfast at the American Royal in Kansas City, Missouri. The Saddle and Sirloin Club of Kansas City awarded scholarships to the top three individuals in the National 4-H Meat Judging Contest. The first place individual received a $1000 scholarship, second place received $750 and third place received $500. 

Source: AMSA