DENVER — The American Association of Swine Veterinarians held a record-setting meeting in Denver this week, with 997 attendees from across the globe. Of particular note, this year’s attendance included 38 countries and 167 veterinary medicine students, showcasing the future wave of swine veterinarians.

The annual meeting includes 1.5 days of pre-conference seminars, followed by the 2.5-day conference that features scientific presentations, industry table top exhibits, an auction, the association’s annual business meeting and much more.

The Tuesday morning business meeting featured the election of new officers. Randy Jones, DVM, Kingston, N.C., has completed his year as AASV president, and Tara Donovan, DVM, Spring Green, Wis., steps into the position. AASV’s president-elect is Matt Anderson, DVM, Algona, Iowa; and Michele Sprague, DVM, Audubon, Iowa, is the association’s new vice president. 

On Monday evening AASV honored a host of its own ahead of the group’s annual auction to raise funds for the AASV Foundation. Honored posthumously as the 2012 Veterinarian of the Year was Brad Gramm, DVM, Bloomington, Ill., who worked for Phibro Animal Health.

Receiving the Howard Dunn Award was Tom Stein, DVM, president of MetaFarms, Bloomington, Minn.

The 2012 Meritorious Service Award went to Morgan Morrow, DVM, North Carolina State University, Raleigh.

George Charbenneau, DVM, Swine Services in Stratford, Ontario, was named the 2012 Swine Practitioner of the Year.

Rounding out the evening’s awards as the Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year was Deborah Murray, DVM, New Fashion Pork, Jackson, Minn.