There are 12 new names selected to be inducted to the Meat Industry Hall of Fame on Oct. 30. The ceremony will occur in conjunction with the North American Meat Processors Association’s annual Outlook Conference in Scottsdale, Ariz.

The members of the “Class of 2010” include: 

  • Richard Bond, former chief executive officer, president and director of Tyson Foods
  • Ralph Cator, founder of  Cardinal Meat Specialists Limited
  • William Farr of Farr Feeders (deceased)
  • Joel Johnson, former chairman, president and chief executive officer of  Hormel Foods
  • H. Kenneth Johnson, former vice president meat science for the National Livestock and Meat Board and executive director, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association
  • Ray Kroc, founder and former chairman of McDonald’s (deceased)
  • Roger Mandigo, animal science professor, University of Nebraska
  • Robert Rust, professor emeritus in animal science, Iowa State University
  • Col. Harland Sanders, founder of Kentucky Fried Chicken (deceased)
  • Jeff  Savell, regents professor and E.M. "Manny" Rosenthal chairholder in animal science, Texas A&M University
  • Deven Scott, former vice president, member services for the American Meat Institute and executive vice president, North American Meat Processors Association
  • Dave Thomas, founder of Wendy’s Old Fashioned Hamburgers (deceased).

The Meat Industry Hall of Fame was created a year ago by Dan Murphy, who now serves as its executive director and Chuck Jolley who serves as its president.

For more information about the event is available on line.

Source: Meat Industry Hall of Fame