A group of Iowa hog producers wants to see some changes in the Chicago Mercantile Exchange's lean hog contracts.

Citing the ongoing economic struggles of the pork industry, the Kossuth County Pork Producers Association submitted a resolution to be discussed at the 2010 Iowa Pork Producers Association Annual Meeting that will ask the National Pork Producers Council to petition the CME to revert the lean hog contract back to a live hog contract with a delivery period from the 6th of each month to the 20th.

The resolution states that the CME's lean hog contract is the only revenue price risk tool available and it's cash settled on two business days out of 40. The county pork group believes a live hog contract with a 10-day delivery period would be more useful to producers.

In another proposed resolution, Kossuth County producers are asking IPPA to support efforts to implement a small Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome pilot eradication project in Iowa.

A major PRRS virus research effort has been funded through the use of state and national pork checkoff funds and vaccines have been ineffective, according to the Kossuth County producers. They feel veterinarians and producers need a better understanding of the management and spread of the disease and small regional eradication projects are under way in other states.

Iowa Pork Producers Association delegates also will consider a resolution submitted by the Mahaska County Pork Producers to allow producers to carry losses forward on their FICA taxes for a limited period of time.

Resolutions on restoring state appropriations to the Iowa Board of Regents and the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, a pork industry image campaign and IPPA's county cooperative program also will be discussed.

IPPA producer/delegates will meet at 9 a.m. Jan. 26 at the Des Moines Marriott. The annual meeting also will feature IPPA financial and committee reports, national reports and other business. Current IPPA President John Vossberg, a producer from Janesville, will deliver his "state of the association" address to the delegates.

The annual meeting will conclude with the passing of the gavel from Vossberg to 2010 IPPA President John Weber, a producer from Dysart.

Source: IPPA